PEET SafeKeeping
A compact convection heater for safes and cabinets, with a stated wattage and a five-year warranty.
Large safes, if you want a heater with a published wattage and a longer warranty
Type
Power / outlet
Recall check:
19 articles
No matching articles. Try “safe” or browse the links above.
We don’t test safes ourselves. We compare published specs, independent certifications and public safety records. Read our method.

We earn a commission if you buy through our Amazon links. It does not change our score. Read our affiliate disclosure.
A full-size gun safe with a power port, if you want to fit it and forget it
Recall check:
A compact convection heater for safes and cabinets, with a stated wattage and a five-year warranty.
Large safes, if you want a heater with a published wattage and a longer warranty
Recall check:
A cordless desiccant unit that you take out and plug into a wall outlet to dry out again.
A safe with no power port, if you don't mind a recharge every few weeks
Recall check:
A small renewable silica gel dehumidifier with a colour-change window and a built-in plug for recharging.
The least money for a safe with no power port
Recall check:
A steel canister of colour-indicating silica gel that you dry out in an oven. No cord and no plug.
A safe with no power port, if you would rather use the oven than a wall outlet
Recall check:
A palm-sized absorbent stone in a rubber cover, recharged in a microwave or oven.
Handgun safes, bedside boxes and hard cases
Recall check:
SPEC TABLE
Each tag shows who stands behind the claim. What these ratings mean
| Specification | | | | | | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | heater rodMaker’s claim | convection heaterMaker’s claim | renewable desiccantMaker’s claim | renewable desiccantMaker’s claim | oven desiccantMaker’s claim | oven desiccantMaker’s claim |
| Power / outlet | 120 V · 6 ft cord · Outlet required in safeMaker’s claim | 120 V · 13 W · Outlet required in safeMaker’s claim | No outlet needed in safeMaker’s claim | 120 V · No outlet needed in safeMaker’s claim | No outlet needed in safeMaker’s claim | No outlet needed in safeMaker’s claim |
| Coverage (maker’s claim) | 200 cu ft (maker’s claim)Maker’s claim | 300 cu ft (maker’s claim)Maker’s claim | 333 cu ft (maker’s claim)Maker’s claim | 333 cu ft (maker’s claim)Maker’s claim | Not published | 10 cu ft (maker’s claim)Maker’s claim |
| Recharge | Not published | Not published | wall plug · 12 hoursMaker’s claim | wall plugMaker’s claim | oven · 4 hoursMaker’s claim | microwaveMaker’s claim |
| Desiccant | Not published | Not published | Water glass crystalsMaker’s claim | Silica gelMaker’s claim | Colour-indicating silica gel · 1500 gMaker’s claim | Absorbent stone (Hornady does not name the material)Maker’s claim |
| Outside size | 18 in longMaker’s claim | 8.5 H × 7 W × 3.5 D inMaker’s claim | 6 H × 8.5 W × 2.5 D inMaker’s claim | Not published | 4.8 H × 6.5 W × 5.3 D inMaker’s claim | 1.1 H × 4.8 W × 2.6 D inMaker’s claim |
| Weight | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Electrical listing | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published | Not published |
| Warranty | Lifetime · Lifetime warranty per Lockdown's product page; the Amazon listing says 1 yearMaker’s claim | 5 years · 5 years; PEET asks you to register within 10 days of purchaseMaker’s claim | 1 years · 1 year per the Amazon listing; Lockdown's page does not state oneMaker’s claim | 5 years · 5 years per the Amazon listing; Eva-Dry's product page does not state oneMaker’s claim | Not published | Not published |
| Price | $44.99Amazon price as of Oct 19, 2026 Check price on Amazon | $39.99Amazon price as of Oct 19, 2026 Check price on Amazon | $27.99Amazon price as of Oct 19, 2026 Check price on Amazon | $14.97Amazon price as of Oct 19, 2026 Check price on Amazon | $47.95Amazon price as of Oct 19, 2026 Check price on Amazon | $31.98Amazon price as of Oct 19, 2026 Check price on Amazon |
We don't test safes ourselves. We compare published specs, independent certifications and public safety records.
Our pick is the Lockdown GoldenRod 18". A gun safe is a sealed steel box, and when the room around it cools at night, moisture condenses on the coldest surface inside, which is your guns. A heater rod stops that by keeping the air inside a few degrees warmer than the room. Once it is plugged in there is nothing to empty, recharge or remember. It needs an outlet inside the safe, so check for a power port before you buy. If you are still choosing the safe itself, start with our long gun safe roundup or the gun safes hub.
The type matters more than the brand. There are two ways to keep a safe dry, and they suit different safes.
Coverage figures are the makers' own claims. A heater rod's "cubic feet" and a desiccant's "cubic feet" don't measure the same thing, so don't compare them across types. The spec table marks them as claims.
GoldenRod is the rod gun-owner forums name most often, and Amazon sells this one directly. Lockdown says it is made in the USA and lists four lengths of the same rod. The 18" suits most full-size safes. A short handgun safe would do better with a desiccant from further down this list.
Two cautions. Lockdown publishes no wattage, and it names no UL or ETL electrical listing for a heater that will run day and night inside a closed box. Lockdown's own page also promises a lifetime warranty while the Amazon listing says one year, so keep your receipt and register the rod with Lockdown.
The PEET SafeKeeping works on the same principle as a rod, but it is a small upright heater with a published wattage and a longer warranty. PEET asks you to register it within ten days of purchase to get that warranty. It takes up more floor or shelf space than a rod. On Amazon it comes from a third-party seller rather than from PEET or Amazon.
The Lockdown Rechargeable sits anywhere in the safe with no cord. Its window shows when the crystals are full. Then you lift it out, plug it into a wall outlet overnight, and put it back. That is the whole trade: no drilling and no outlet, in exchange for a chore every few weeks. Amazon sells it directly.
The Eva-Dry E-333 works the same way as the Lockdown, with a built-in plug for recharging, and it is the cheapest unit here. Eva-Dry's own page states more than twice the moisture capacity that Amazon's copy does, so we show the maker's figure. It is small enough to hang on a door rack or sit on a shelf.
The Hornady Canister Dehumidifier XL is a steel can of colour-indicating silica gel. When the beads change colour, you dry the whole canister in the oven. Nothing about it is electric. Hornady states no coverage figure, and its own page repeats the standard canister's dimensions, so the size in our table comes from the Amazon listing. It was sold by a third-party seller on the date we checked.
The Hornady Rapid Dry Stone is sized for small boxes: a bedside safe, a pistol case or a tool chest. You recharge it in a microwave or oven when its window changes colour. Hornady doesn't say what the stone is made of. For a handgun safe, see our bedside gun safe roundup.
Put an inexpensive digital hygrometer inside the safe and read it for the first two weeks. Gun owners commonly aim for roughly 45 to 50 percent relative humidity, a figure often credited to the NRA, though we have only seen it cited secondhand. If the reading doesn't fall, a rod may be too short for the safe or a desiccant may be full.
Some owners report wood stocks cracking when a safe is kept very dry, so a falling reading is not automatically good. Forum posters also suggest a rubber mat or a coat of epoxy between a safe and a bare concrete floor, because concrete wicks moisture up from below.
Products such as DampRid use calcium chloride, which turns the water it absorbs into a salty liquid. Forum posters warn against them in gun safes, because a spill puts brine next to steel. Every desiccant pick here uses silica gel or a solid absorbent that holds what it collects.
A heater rod and a PEET unit stay switched on inside a closed box for years. The certification that would matter here is a UL or ETL electrical listing, not a fire or burglary rating. None of the six makers names one on its product page, and none of the Amazon listings does either. The tables therefore show "Not published" for electrical listing. Plug a rod into a grounded outlet, follow the maker's instructions for running the cord, and don't cover it.
We started from 60 Amazon listings and dropped most of them:
None of the six models matched a CPSC recall or warning in our searches on 2026-10-17. Every dehumidifier recall CPSC lists is for a room unit with a compressor, not a safe rod or desiccant. One related recall is worth knowing: in February 2026 DriBiz recalled its Ammo Tabs desiccant tiles, sold for ammunition cans, for an injury hazard. Check the recall notice if you have any.
A dehumidifier protects what is in the safe, not the safe itself. To compare safes, read what gun safe fire ratings mean or our gun cabinet roundup. Read how we rate for the labels in the table.
SOURCES
Manufacturer and listing claims stay labelled until confirmed in a certifier’s directory.